Tipsy Tuesday: What Not To Wear, Maternity Edition

November 27, 2012 at 7:48 am 1 comment

I’m well into my second trimester and am heading back into my pregnancy clothes piece by piece so I though I’d share some advice on buying maternity clothes.

Buy as you grow – I made the mistake of buying lots of on-sale pregnancy clothes last time and never used some of them because they didn’t work for me at any point.

Leggings! – Thank god they’re back in style cause they have been my best friend at every point of my pregnancy.

Borrow and Share – Maternity clothes can be expensive when you start to add it all up so borrow when you can and share when you’re done.

Pregnancy Bands-They work well to get you through the growing out of your regular clothes stage.  They also smoothed out bumps made from my bulging belly pushing buttons against shirts.

Give in to Granny Panties – Invest in pregnancy tights and panties or buy up a size in regular ones.  You don’t want to spend all day in the bathroom pulling up your underwear.

Trust Fellow Pregnant Moms – Read the customer reviews and be careful with sizes. Old Navy Maternity clothes run big while Gap is pretty spot-on.

Some decent places to buy– Most of them are in the United States but almost all of them ship internationally.

Ann Taylor Loft (U.S.) – Great selection of some of the classiest maternity clothes out there but they aren’t cheap.  anntaylorloft.com

Gap – I’ve had lots of luck buying basics and jeans from them. gap.com

Old Navy (U.S.) – They have a pretty big selection, but some of it is way too cutesy for me.  I have lots of luck with their basics and jeans.  oldnavy.com

H&M – They have a small selection, but you can find some good tops.  I haven’t tried their bottoms and I haven’t been too impressed by the quality or styles in general, but I did like the tights and leggings I bought there.  hm.com/us/

J.C. Penny’s (U.S.) – Surprise, surprise I found some good tops here for almost nothing.  jcpenny.com

Sears (U.S.) – Aly recommended it and asked me to add it on.  sears.com

Happy Shopping!

-Katie

Entry filed under: Our Favorite Things, Pregnancy and Birth, Tipsy Tuesday, Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

Anticipating Baby #2

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Darcy  |  March 13, 2013 at 4:31 pm

    When looking for maternity clothing it’s important to keep in mind you want to go with your pre-pregnancy size. Also, it’s important to make sure when buying maternity that everything you’re buying is true maternity, some stores will purchase regular pants, jeans and skirts and have a panel sewn on, this tends to lead to problems later in pregnancy (when you’re expanding in areas other then just your belly…it happens to the best of us!) A pretty clear giveaway that something isn’t true maternity is if it seems rediculously long and if the fabric doesn’t seem to offer much stretch. All of the maternity at Haute Mommies and Bella Babies is true maternity.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11 other followers

Twitter Updates

  • We've got a two year old con-artist on our hands. Bedtime scams that she's run so far: 1. the classic water... fb.me/2vGe1IWWe 4 years ago
  • I love the Rock 'N Play Sleeper but the design has left me scratching my head a bit. Seems like that design flaw... fb.me/1O5L2o6iA 4 years ago
  • My husband thinks it's cute that Paddy now says "No!". I told him to give it a week and see how cute it is. 4 years ago
  • I'm turning into my mother, just realized I need a "maternity slip". -Katie 4 years ago
  • Enjoyed this article on baby names and thought I'd share. As a teacher and soon-to-be-mom of dual culture kids,... fb.me/2aC327H0H 4 years ago

