Tipsy Tuesday: Peace Out, Pacifier

November 13, 2012 at 7:45 am 2 comments

My daughter is 25 months old and I promised myself that we’d give up the pacifier by her second birthday. That didn’t happen and a month later I decided it was time to take action. She sleeps with it and will look for it during the day every now and then and asks for it when she’s upset sometimes, she uses the Spanish nickname tete from the word for pacifier chupete.

Tete had to go for several reasons, but mostly for the sake of her teeth. I sucked my thumb until I was eleven and my parents paid for it in expensive orthodontistry bills while I suffered through years of hardware implanted in my mouth and I still wear a retainer at night.  So the pacifier jig was up for Nora and I had a plan…

This past Saturday morning I informed my husband that I wanted to take Nora and her pacifiers to the store to “trade in” her pacifiers for movies.  My husband was skeptical but decided to go along with my plan.  We put Nora’s pacifiers in a transparent bag and told her where we were going and why.  She was happy to carry the pacifier bag, but shook her head when I told her she had to use them to buy the movies.  However, the metro ride there helped distract her a little bit and when we got to the store she enjoyed choosing her movies, which were  Finding Nemo and Toy Story.  As we approached the counter to pay I reminded her that she had to give the lady the pacifier bag for the movies which, to my surprise, she did with no fuss.  The attendant was kind and made a big deal about Nora being too big for pacifiers and movies were better.  While Nora and my husband walked away with her new movies, I ran back to get the pacifiers just in case my plan failed and we had a 3am emergency.

On our way home we stopped by my in-laws so everyone could make a big fuss about what a big girl she was and how great it was she wasn’t using pacifiers anymore.  So far so good, but it was now time for a nap…

We took Nora home, put her down, she asked for her tete once and we reminded her that we traded them in for the movies.  She then asked to sleep with the movies which she did for three days in a row.  I took out the DVDs and she placed one box on each side of her head.  (I never said she wasn’t a weirdo.)  The first few naps and bedtimes were rough, she had trouble falling asleep and called for us a lot, but each day has gotten better.

I would recommend this trick to anyone in our position and I’ve also read about having your child take the pacifiers to the doctor’s office to leave them for the new babies or having a Bye Bye Pacifier Party.  Not sure about the idea of cutting off the end, that sounded a little cruel, but desperate times…

Anyway, our next step is changing to a toddler bed, but for now we’ll enjoy this little success.

R.I.P. Tete

14 October 2010-10 November 2012

-Katie

Entry filed under: Baby's 2nd Year, Health Concerns, Parenting, Toddlers, Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , .

Our Return Day Anticipating Baby #2

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Phil Veysey  |  November 13, 2012 at 8:39 am

    Brilliant blog post Katie!

    Reply
  • 2. Ms Maryellen Quinn-Kachel  |  November 30, 2013 at 6:01 pm

    Congrat

    Sent from my iPhone

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11 other followers

Twitter Updates

  • We've got a two year old con-artist on our hands. Bedtime scams that she's run so far: 1. the classic water... fb.me/2vGe1IWWe 4 years ago
  • I love the Rock 'N Play Sleeper but the design has left me scratching my head a bit. Seems like that design flaw... fb.me/1O5L2o6iA 4 years ago
  • My husband thinks it's cute that Paddy now says "No!". I told him to give it a week and see how cute it is. 4 years ago
  • I'm turning into my mother, just realized I need a "maternity slip". -Katie 4 years ago
  • Enjoyed this article on baby names and thought I'd share. As a teacher and soon-to-be-mom of dual culture kids,... fb.me/2aC327H0H 4 years ago

