Round Two

March 30, 2012 at 10:10 am Leave a comment

Lately my husband and I have been discussing plans for a new addition to our family. Although we both want to have more children, we’re not as gung-ho as we were the first time around, but we both have different reasons for our reluctance…

He’s worried about money, with the economy going the way it is, the cost of living going up, a recent reduction in pay from his government job, and me not working full-time, we’re just not real flush right now with mad money. My point to him is this: Who ever has extra money and thinks wow, let’s have another kid?  “Gee thanks Boss for my bonus. I’m gonna spend it on a new baby.” No way. It doesn’t work that way. Not many people are ever in an ideal economic position to have more children. I’m willing to do some home haircuts, buy more store brand food, and shop for second-hand clothes. We’ll make it work.

My reason for reluctance is (and I may sound like a terrible person): I don’t want a newborn.  There, I said it.  Ladies, I know there are some of you out there that LOVE the newborn baby gig. Late nights don’t bother you and you’re happy to sit and snuggle all day with a little baby, but it just ain’t for me. Sorry, but I prefer when they walk and talk. I told Aly the other day that I would like to have the option to deliver a six month old baby. I know it goes by fast and it’s a special time, but it just wasn’t my favourite part of motherhood.

All that being said, when we tell people we’re thinking about expanding our family the most common reaction we get is:  “Are you going to move?” or Where are you going to put them?

Let me explain, we live in a small, two bedroom, one bathroom flat.  It’s lovely, but it’s COZY if you get my drift.  However, we have no plans of moving in the immediate future.  We can’t afford it and we’re not ready.  I don’t see anything wrong with children sharing rooms, especially when they’re little.  My husband never had his own room and it didn’t bother him.  I, on the other hand, always had my own room, but I slept with my sisters or my mom when my Dad worked nights.  My mother, who is one of eight children, grew up sharing a BED with her sister and my father, who is one of fifteen children, shared a room with three of his brothers.  They grew up to be cooperative, hard-working, generous adults.  Point being, no one NEEDS their own bedroom as a child.  If you can afford it and you have the space, good for you, but we can’t and we don’t, so we’ll be stacking them babies up in dresser drawers.

-Katie

Entry filed under: Motherhood, Parenting, Pregnancy and Birth, Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

The Ghosts of Paddy’s Day Past Team Paddy Power

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11 other followers

Twitter Updates

  • We've got a two year old con-artist on our hands. Bedtime scams that she's run so far: 1. the classic water... fb.me/2vGe1IWWe 4 years ago
  • I love the Rock 'N Play Sleeper but the design has left me scratching my head a bit. Seems like that design flaw... fb.me/1O5L2o6iA 4 years ago
  • My husband thinks it's cute that Paddy now says "No!". I told him to give it a week and see how cute it is. 4 years ago
  • I'm turning into my mother, just realized I need a "maternity slip". -Katie 4 years ago
  • Enjoyed this article on baby names and thought I'd share. As a teacher and soon-to-be-mom of dual culture kids,... fb.me/2aC327H0H 4 years ago

