The Ghosts of Paddy’s Day Past

March 20, 2012 at 2:34 am Leave a comment

This past weekend, I went out to celebrate Paddy’s Day for the first time in three years. Last year I had a five month old, the year before I was pregnant, so I was super psyched “to get my cider on”.   Being out and about brought up lots of memories from past Paddy’s Days. It reminded me of how different my life used to be before I had a little one to take care of.  Crazy days of all day debauchery are now distant memories and sensible day drinking is now a reality…

Paddy’s Day Then:  Starting planning, getting excited weeks in advance, took the day off work and the following day as well to recover.  Meals were not included in the drinking schedule.

Paddy’s Day Now:  Arranged meeting up with some friends at the last-minute for a big lunch and then hitting a couple of pubs afterwards.

Paddy’s Day Then:  Drank my weight in hard cider and am lucky I wasn’t arrested for my ridiculous behaviour.

Paddy’s Day Now:  Shared three bottles of cider with a friend and acted like a responsible adult 95% of the time.

Paddy’s Day Then:  Ended the night being told “Kate, the bar is closing.  Kathleen, get off the table!  Kathleen Patricia, they are not serving alcohol anymore, the bar is closing, get down off the table, they are kicking us out!!!  After a usually fruitless search for some late night food, I stumbled my way home at a non-respectable hour with my fairy godmother looking over me making sure I didn’t end up in a ditch.

Paddy’s Day Now:  Said my goodbyes politely and bowed out early in the evening (it was still light out) to get home to see my daughter before she went to bed.  She and I were both in bed by 10pm.

Paddy’s Day Then:  Woke up sometime the next day with a bad case of the Irish Flu.

Paddy’s Day Now:  Woke up hangover free at 830am.

I don’t really miss those mad Paddy’s Days of long ago, but I do have good memories of them.  Things are just different now, but in a good way.  When I said goodbye to my friends this past Paddy’s Day, another friend of mine ( who is in her twenties with no kids) decided to call it a night too.   As we walked away, a friend yelled out to inform us that we suck.  I quickly answered, “She sucks.  I’m a mom.”

-Katie

Entry filed under: Favorite Apps, Motherhood, Uncategorized. Tags: , .

I Diapered My Cat Round Two

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11 other followers

Twitter Updates

  • We've got a two year old con-artist on our hands. Bedtime scams that she's run so far: 1. the classic water... fb.me/2vGe1IWWe 4 years ago
  • I love the Rock 'N Play Sleeper but the design has left me scratching my head a bit. Seems like that design flaw... fb.me/1O5L2o6iA 4 years ago
  • My husband thinks it's cute that Paddy now says "No!". I told him to give it a week and see how cute it is. 4 years ago
  • I'm turning into my mother, just realized I need a "maternity slip". -Katie 4 years ago
  • Enjoyed this article on baby names and thought I'd share. As a teacher and soon-to-be-mom of dual culture kids,... fb.me/2aC327H0H 4 years ago

