Favorite Apps: Instagram

August 12, 2011 at 8:24 am 4 comments

I am a terrible photographer. Terrible. Just awful. I see a shot that would look good and try to snap a photo but it turns out all wrong. And to make matters worse, I take 99% of my pictures with my iPhone. The majority of the pictures of my son are taken one handed while I’m holding him. I don’t know much about photography but I’m fairly certain you shouldn’t be holding your subject in order to get the best snapshot.

But of course the Apple App Store has a solution – and this one is free! Instagram.

Take a semi-decent picture with your iPhone and then open the Instagram app (or take a picture directly in the Instagram app); crop the picture and then apply a filter – my favorite filters are Nashville and Walden. Somehow the filters give just a little something extra that transforms that ordinary picture into special.

Here’s a picture I took of my son resting against my chest (can’t believe I am actually sharing a picture of me sporting a double chin). And then that same picture after some Instagram magic.

Pictures can be shared on six different social media sites including Twitter and Facebook.

And one more before and after of a totally banal picture amped up a few degrees.

-Aly

Entry filed under: Favorite Apps, Our Favorite Things. Tags: , .

Kevin’s Birth Story, Final Part: An Emergency C-Section? “1st” Birthday Party

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Steve Schwartzman  |  August 12, 2011 at 8:33 am

    While it’s true that taking pictures one-handed isn’t usually recommended, I find myself doing that with my macro nature photography. When you get very close to a subject in nature, even a modest breeze will amplify an obbject’s movement. To counteract that, I’ll steady a subject with my left hand and take pictures with my right, sometimes pressing the camera against my forehead for extra stability. It’s unorthodox, but I find it works for me.

    Steve Schwartzman
    http://portraitsofwildflowers.wordpress.com

    Reply
    • 2. Vitoria  |  December 28, 2012 at 6:20 am

      Hey Mrs. Diary Of a Fat Mom. I just camed across your YOUTUBE web site of how you want to lose 300 lbs. Well Im trniyg to follow up on you by going to your different web pages! I need for you update US all on your process! We are one of your biggest fans, although I dont have 300 lbs to lose, Im still struggling to be healthy myself. Currently I am weight about 183-185 lbs, and its not easy for me I tell you the truth. I cover up my body alot, I wear sweaters to cover my flabby arms, and to hide my stomach. Just to give you a little insight of who I am. My name is Angela and Im happy to see your doing this for yourself first and your family. Please continue to keep US dated with your progress so we can CHEER you on your journey of success. And when you seem to get in a position of where you cant do this journey anymore, REMEMBER, its only 1 day at a time, just RENEW your Mind in JESUS and say, I CAN DO ALL THINGS THROUGH CHRIST JESUS WHICH STRENGTHEN ME! AMEN Ps. At this time I have no car, so I have no choice but to walk and ride the bus to and fro from work, which I think is helping me out alot, due to I love to EAT. lol But anyways, I know sooner or later, I will get a vehicle and things will be different for me. Today I started on this SLIMSTYLE PGX powder drink. It suppose to curb your appetite and help regular your blood sugar and help promote weight lose. Again, remember I told you I love to EAT.. So Im trniyg this product out just for myself to see if it will help me any. I hope to hear from you soon! YOUR AN INSPIRATION TO ALOT OF US .PLEASE KEEP POSTING ABOUT YOUR PROGRESS. Remember you have several web sites of yours to follow up with, so please do so! YOUR HELPING THE WORLD Take care, Be Blessed!

      Reply
  • 3. Steve Schwartzman  |  August 12, 2011 at 8:34 am

    Oops, I see a typo in “obbject’s.”

    Reply
  • 4. Anonymous  |  August 13, 2011 at 8:15 am

    A tip: Don’t forget to apply the “tilt shift” between cropping the picture and selecting the filter in Instagram. That makes the pics truly amazing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11 other followers

Twitter Updates

  • We've got a two year old con-artist on our hands. Bedtime scams that she's run so far: 1. the classic water... fb.me/2vGe1IWWe 4 years ago
  • I love the Rock 'N Play Sleeper but the design has left me scratching my head a bit. Seems like that design flaw... fb.me/1O5L2o6iA 4 years ago
  • My husband thinks it's cute that Paddy now says "No!". I told him to give it a week and see how cute it is. 4 years ago
  • I'm turning into my mother, just realized I need a "maternity slip". -Katie 4 years ago
  • Enjoyed this article on baby names and thought I'd share. As a teacher and soon-to-be-mom of dual culture kids,... fb.me/2aC327H0H 4 years ago

