Best Baby Gifts (that weren’t on our registries)-Aly’s Picks

July 9, 2011 at 11:39 am 1 comment

Aly’s Picks…

I ditto Katie’s statement that registries are great but I confess that I did a terrible job registering as I was overwhelmed by the entire process. Stores such as Babies R Us and Buy Buy Baby – well, they just blew my mind. There’s simply no way we need that much stuff.

That being said, I’m sure friends and family got a good kick out of some of the stuff I did register for. Luckily, many people went off registry and bought us some really wonderful and some really practical gifts.

1. Anything Handmade – My Mother-in-law’s colleague made us a lovely handmade afghan. It is absolutely beautiful and I’m looking forward to the cooler weather when I can cuddle up with Kevin and the blanket. We also received a few hand knit outfits. These are definitely to be worn for only special visits or pictures but they are adorable – and again, something I’m looking forward to using in the cooler months.

2. Laser Carved Wooden Blocks– One of the most charming gifts we received was a carved wooden block set that included a personalized block with Kevin’s birth details. Personalized Baby Block

3. Favorite Sports Team Gear – my husband and I are fans of the Yankees and the New York Football Giants – not easy gear to come by in Delaware (although Red Sox gear is inexplicably everywhere!).
Right after Kevin was born we received a Giants piggy bank and stuffed doll/mascots in both Yankees and Giants outfits – the stuffed items were made even more special because they were from our friend who is diehard Red Sox/Patriots fan. Kevin’s also received outfits of all sizes for both teams.

4. Religious Books – We are not religious people and we do not plan on having Kevin baptized (a post for another day) but I believe strongly in providing Kevin with a good, moral background. I remember reading bible books as a kid and loving the stories. Luckily my Aunt Roseann gave Kevin a Jesus A to Z book.

5. Used Baby Items – such as swings, Bumbos, etc. I’ve been lucky enough to get many lovingly used items such as a swing, stroller and even a baby monitor. It might not be the most exciting thing to give but I was thrilled to not have to spend money on a second set of these critical items for grandma’s house. And, as in the case of the Bumbo, it’s a great way to save money on something your baby may not like. Kevin is having no part of the Bumbo so I’m glad the one we have is third hand – I don’t feel bad that it just sits in the living room.  One friend even lent me her microwave sterilizer for bottles and breast pump parts.

6. Toys Beyond the Infant Stage – Kevin is still an infant since we go by his adjusted age of 3.5 months (another post for another day) so we’re not there yet with toys – kiddo is still figuring out how not to smack himself in the eye with his rattle. But I can see that we’re approaching the “I like toys” day soon and we were given several toys for six months up through a few years old. Friends recently came to visit and brought Kevin a toy their now nine month old daughter loved when she was six months. You really can’t get a better toy endorsement than that.

7. Cloth Diaper Inserts can it get any more boring and plain vanilla? But this is one of those things where I’m sure my Aunt Patty M. looked at the cute (tiny)
burp cloths I’d registered for and laughed.



And then she bought us these and we can’t live without them. Those cute burp cloths may work for some babies but if you know a baby with reflux these cloth diapers are the only way to go.

8. Gift Cards – I know Kate has these on her list too and, tacky as they may be, boy do they come in handy. We tried everything to get Kevin to sleep: crib with mattress elevated, crib with mattress flat, swing, Moses basket elevated on couch, Moses basket elevated in crib. Finally I broke down and got the Rock N Play so many reflux moms recommend. It’s only $59.99 at Babies R Us (cheaper at Amazon.com) but I have a hard time bringing myself to spend good money on something a baby will only use for a few months. Having a gift card to use on these limited use items really got me over that mental block. And, it worked! Kevin loves it and we are all getting a better night’s sleep now.

9. Personalized Book – One of our favorite NICU doctors took a special liking to Kevin and gave him a My Very Own Name book. It was so touching. My mom then had the brilliant idea to have all the NICU staff sign the book. It’s an incredible NICU moment and it reminds me of the fabulous Dr. Velanki every time we read it.

10. Personalized T-Shirt – two of my aunts had a personalized t shirt (in 2T) made for Kevin. They actually had two of them made – one to wear and one they framed. It traces Kevin’s name back three generations in our family and hangs proudly in his room.

-Aly

Entry filed under: Baby Shower, Gadgets and Gear, Our Favorite Things, Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Best Baby Presents (that weren’t on our registries) Best Baby Gift – What’s Your Favorite?

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Lowell  |  January 10, 2014 at 8:24 pm

    Heya i’m for the first time here. I came across this board and I find It truly useful & it helped me
    out a lot. I hope to give something back
    and aid others like you aided me.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11 other followers

Twitter Updates

  • We've got a two year old con-artist on our hands. Bedtime scams that she's run so far: 1. the classic water... fb.me/2vGe1IWWe 4 years ago
  • I love the Rock 'N Play Sleeper but the design has left me scratching my head a bit. Seems like that design flaw... fb.me/1O5L2o6iA 4 years ago
  • My husband thinks it's cute that Paddy now says "No!". I told him to give it a week and see how cute it is. 4 years ago
  • I'm turning into my mother, just realized I need a "maternity slip". -Katie 4 years ago
  • Enjoyed this article on baby names and thought I'd share. As a teacher and soon-to-be-mom of dual culture kids,... fb.me/2aC327H0H 4 years ago

